The Twelve Days of Books & Company Christmas

Because our news is pretty sparse this week and we are filled with the spirit of Christmas, we bring you The 12 Days of Books & Company Christmas

On the First Day of Christmas, my true love gave to me a card and a political biography (many of our Christmas cards are locally produced by Prince George artists and there are loads of good political biographies out right now, we suggest Nation Maker: Sir John A MacDonald, His Life, Our Times by Richard Gwyn).

On the Second Day of Christmas, my true love gave to me two Theatre Northwest Tickets (The Clockmaker Starts on February 9 and runs until February 26, if you get tickets for around Valentine’s Day, you’ve got two holidays covered as long as you turn it into a night out with a nice dinner and dessert), a card and a political biography (Jack Layton’s book Speaking Out Louder: Ideas that Work for Canadians is excellent although it’s not exactly a biography).

On the Third Day of Christmas, my true love gave to me three jigsaw puzzles (we’ve got some really hard ones in right now), two Theatre Northwest Tickets (Brighton Beach Memoirs starts April 19 and runs until May 6), a card and a musician biography (my true love shook things up a bit and got me Jann Arden’s new biography Falling Backwards).

On the Fourth Day of Christmas, my true love gave to me four kinds of calendars (we’ve got wall calendars, desk calendars, journals and day planners), three jigsaw puzzles (you’re never alone if you’re doing a jigsaw because someone will always reach over your shoulder and put in the piece you were looking for), two Theatre Northwest Tickets, a card and an amazing biography (Blood on My Shirt by local paramedic Michael Burzek is a great insider’s view into the front lines of emergency medicine).

On the Fifth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me five local cds (Out of Alba’s Nithi Sessions is especially amazing, and there’s still time to pick up tickets to their December 17 concert in ArtSpace, that’s a good pre-Christmas Present for the 5th day too), four types of calendars, three jigsaw puzzles, two theatre tickets, a card and a local biography (have you read Brian Fawcett’s Human Happiness yet, it’s amazing!)

On the Sixth Day of Christmas my true love gave to me, six award winning novels (Patrick DeWitt’s The Sisters Brothers is a great modern take on the classic western and won the Governor General’s Award for Fiction this year), five local cds (have you heard Raghu Lokanathan’s Blue Girl, it’s amazing), four types of calendars, three jigsaw puzzles, two theatre tickets, a card and a historical biography (Lillian Alling: The Journey Home by Susan Smith-Josephy is one of the best BC biographies and histories of the year).

On the Seventh Day of Christmas my true love gave to me, seven local histories (Vivian Lougheed’s Sidetracked: The Struggle for BC Fossils is a fascinating story of the conflict between amateur and professional paleontologists), six award winning novels (Victoria’s Esi Edugyan’s Half-Blood Blues won this year’s Giller Prize and was also short-listed for the Governor General’s Award and The Man Booker Prize), five local cds (Dawn Boudreau’s Love from the Piano Bar is a great local disk), four types of calendars, three jigsaw puzzles, two theatre tickets, a card and an inspiring biography (Gabby by Gabrielle Giffords and Mark Kelly is the truly amazing tale of their remarkable lives and her recovery after the shooting last January).

On the Eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me, eight Coldsnap tickets (Coldsnap runs January 20 to 28 and my true love got me tickets to see FiddleStix and Searson at the Celtic Kick-Off Party on January 20, Sheena Burgess, Ana Bon-Bon, Linda McRae at the Girls Night Out on January 21, Whitehorse on January 22 and the first local music night on January 23), seven local histories (Trappers and Trailblazers by Jack Boudreau is a marvelous history), six award winning novels (Last year’s Giller Award winner Joanna Skibsrud has a new short story collection, This Will Be Difficult to Explain), 5 local cds, four types of calendars, three jigsaw puzzles, two theatre tickets, a card and a remarkable biography (The Legendary Betty Frank by Betty Frank and Sage Birchwater tells the larger than life story of a Chilcotin legend).

On the Ninth day of Christmas my true love gave to me, nine books on gardening (Gardening Between Frosts: A Hands and Knees look at Northern Gardening by Dave Howard is especially good), eight Coldsnap tickets (tickets to all of the other Coldsnap Concerts), seven local histories (Tragedy on Jackass Mountain: More Stories from a Small Town Mountie by Charles Scheideman is hilarious), six award winning novels, 5 local cds, four types of calendars, 3 jigsaw puzzles, two theatre tickets, a card and a local biography (a signed copy of Beyond the Home Ranch by Diana Phillips, now that’s a great local biography).

On the Tenth day of Christmas my true love gave to me, ten hobby books (including Fly Tying for Beginners, I think I know how we’ll be spending part of the summer), nine books on gardening (From the Ground Up: A Horticulture Guide for Northern Gardeners by Barbara Rayment will get me ready for spring), eight Coldsnap tickets, seven local histories, six award winning novels, 5 local cds, four types of calendars, three jigsaw puzzles, two theatre tickets, a card and another biography (my true love really knows my love of a good biography).

On the Eleventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me, eleven finger puppets (and a couple of bigger hand puppets, I especially like the Donkey!), ten books on hobbies (hunting, fishing, wood turning, I think some of these are for him), nine books on gardening, eight Coldsnap tickets, seven local histories, six award winning novels, 5 local cds, four types of calendars, three jigsaw puzzles, two theatre tickets, a card and another great biography (Michael Moore’s Here Comes Trouble, funny, insightful and the roots of his political activism).

On the Twelfth day of Christmas my true love gave to me, twelve tiny lemon tarts (for snacking purposes while I read), eleven finger puppets, ten hobby books, nine books on gardening, eight Coldsnap tickets, seven local histories, six award winning novels, 5 local cds, four types of calendars, three jigsaw puzzles, two theatre tickets, a card and a hockey biography (Cornered: Hijinks, Highlights, Late Nights and Insights by Ron MacLean gives an intimate look into a Canadian Saturday night tradition, what would Hockey Night in Canada be without Ron MacLean).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

